Menu
MANUFACTURER & DISTRIBUTOR of Mecal Products in North America

Reviews

Write A Review




All Reviews

"The team at Mecal (Starn) was a big help in getting us up and running with our older TT Crimper. They've proved that Crimpin is easy with the right tools and support. I'll gladly do business again with this group, thanks again!"

Ryan Mills - Update Systems

Posted On - August 15, 2018

"Excellent customer service. We were able to get our equipment running in a matter of days due to the parts availability and quick turn around."

Larry Franklin - Airmar

Posted On - June 21, 2018

"We feel very lucky to have found such a great company to work with for all of our crimp application needs. The engineering support and dialogue back and forth is excellent. They have developed some custom solutions for us to help improve efficiency. The entire team is a pleasure to work with and we look forward to continuing our relationship. "

Andy R - Teledyne

Posted On - April 26, 2018

"Great Customer service. Everyone had been great to work with. As a maintinace tech I very very rarely have to touch any thing we have Mecal. the applicators as well as the presses do a great job. We are super happy with out Mecal Products!"

Ron Rice - Qualtronics

Posted On - March 2, 2018

"I have been purchasing Mecal presses and applicators for the past 10 years. In all that time, we haven't had a single press or applicator that didn't come straight out of the box and go right into production. Their turn around time from order to delivery is second to none. We had issues with another companies applicators and dies. Mecal's engineering staff solved our problems, even though the applicators weren't theirs! They have provided unparalleled support and customer service to out company. They even designed custom tooling for another companies applicators!"

Tim Shea - Electrex Inc.

Posted On - March 2, 2018

"The Team at Mecal has really helped us and our customers get to market sooner and with much more flexibility than would have been possible purchasing from others. Out of 20+ Applicators purchased in a short amount of time we only had one minor problem and they took GREAT care in solving it right away. Truly, they stand by their tooling and machining. "

James Bench - Lightning Tree Tech

Posted On - January 26, 2018

"The Mecal applicator is good, one of the best in the market. What sets this product apart from anything else out there is the amazing support, people, know how, and tangible value of Starn. In our experience, we must meet the demands of a fast paced, short turn around, high quality, competitive market. That is why we trust Starn to provide us the best solutions. The next time you plan on buying an applicator, do your company and yourself a favor and buy a Starn branded Mecal applicator, you won’t regret it."

Tony Valerio - Automated Wiring Systems

Posted On - January 23, 2018

"These folks are the real deal! They are expert toolmakers with long experience in this niche market. Quality of product and service after the sale have been absolutely outstanding. Without their steadfast support, I don’t see how our team could have successfully implanted this non-trivial equipment into the production environment. Also, the value per dollar offered by Mecal by Starn is truly unbeatable. This operation runs lean, and the customer benefits handsomely. I am absolutely sold on them!"

Scott A. Morrison - Parker Hannifin Corporation

Posted On - January 8, 2018

"Being partnered with a company that has strong customer service & quality values, is extremely important to Samtec, which is why we have trusted Mecal-by-Starn to support us for the past several years."

Daniel Linton - Samtec

Posted On - December 14, 2017

"Working with Nick Nahay and Jim Smith make my job fun. Such great people to work with! The speed of answers to my requests is absolutely astonishing. I truly appreciate everything they have done for us!"

Dana Solveson - Artos Engineering Company

Posted On - December 14, 2017

"Thank you for your continued excellent service. I sent an RFQ over this morning and in the afternoon received a formal quote. Nick has always provided me expeditious service, it's a great joy having a supplier I can always count on! "

Carrie McConachie - era-contact USA, LLC

Posted On - December 13, 2017

"The team at Mecal was quick to respond to our issue and identified the problem right away. Within a couple days, we received the part needed to fix our applicator. Excellent work!"

Chad Dawgiello - CMR Group

Posted On - December 8, 2017

"Mecal's Perishable tooling is the best most long lasting tooling on the market, and the applicators are top of the line. If I have an issue my sales rep is always there to answer any questions I may have.with Mecal you get nothing but the best tools and service there is.Thank you everyone at Mecal!"

Nathen Bishop - AG Manufacturing

Posted On - December 8, 2017

"The guys at Mecal have saved my company a ton of money with their perishable tooling service. We send in perishable tooling, they reverse engineer the tool and produce copies at greatly reduced cost. The staff are very knowledgeable, communicate well, and seem to genuinely love their job and serving customers. Mecal applicators are widely known as the top of the line in the industry. We use a Mecal end feed applicator on a stainless steel terminal that reads 2500+lbs of peak force on our force monitors. We have over 1 million crimps on this extremely tough terminal and the applicator is problem free. The life of their perishable tooling life is the best I've seen, with crimp punches lasting 2-3 times as long as other manufacturers. "

Andy Longfellow - TACK Electronics

Posted On - December 7, 2017

"Mecal by Starn is great to work with and provides outstanding service with competitive cost and excellent lead-times! Keep up the great work!!"

Sara Hall - Telamon

Posted On - December 2, 2017

"We had an issue with our one applicator, and Jim and his team worked tirelessly to help us identify and fix the issue. Thank so much!"

M. Coldron - WT Corp.

Posted On - September 28, 2017

"Mecal by Starn is an excellent company for customer service and meeting their customer's needs. Timing is very good and there has not been any issue with the quality of their applicator dies."

S. Hall - Westbrook

Posted On - September 28, 2017

"An excellent supplier, one of the best I have."

M. Gerardo - General Cable

Posted On - September 28, 2017

MBS Samtec Part Number Cross Reference Sheet

Mecal News

Returning to our STANDARD LEAD-TIME!

Mecal by Starn is proud to announce we will be returning to our STANDARD LEAD-TIME!

Learn More


Mecal by Starn and Samtec Part Number Cross Reference Sheet

Mecal by Starn and Samtec have partnered together to provide OEM applicators for all Samtec terminals. For our valued customers to see the relationship between the companies, and how the Samtec part numbers can be cross referenced with the Mecal by Starn

Learn More


The Evolution Starts Here!

No matter how large or small you are, you will ALWAYS get the same quality and service you deserve.  Mecal by Starn now offers a few more options that allow you to choose which applicator best fits your expectations and budget.  Whether you are just starting out in cable assembly or a full production wire harness facility, we have the product for you!

Learn More